How do you trim really, really long dog nails?

I have been trimming my own cat's claws since they were kittens, but I have no experience cutting dog nails. My roommate's dogs are older and very rarely go on walks, so they do not grind their nails down on the cement. Their nails are very long, but…

I have been trimming my own cat's claws since they were kittens, but I have no experience cutting dog nails. My roommate's dogs are older and very rarely go on walks, so they do not grind their nails down on the cement. Their nails are very long, but…...
    General Dog Discussions : How do you trim really, really long dog nails?...

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• How do you trim really, really long dog nails?

How do you trim really, really long dog nails? General Dog Discussions
      I have been trimming my own cat's claws since they were kittens, but I have no experience cutting dog nails. My roommate's dogs are older and very rarely go on walks, so they do not grind their nails down on the cement. Their nails are very long, but my roommate does not want to hurt his dogs by cutting the nails and is too cheap to take them to get them trimmed by a professional. On one of the dogs, the dewclaws have curled so bad, they are starting to cut back into the dog's skin. What is the best way to trim them back down to size once the nails are long and quick has grown out?

How do you trim really, really long dog nails? General Dog Discussions
    • slowly and very little at a time. The dog is going to be resistant if this is new. Try holding their paws frequently to get them used to it. If they don't resist and don't jerk away, try clipping just the very tip. Wait a while and clip just a little more. You can also try a nail file. They make special animal nail files that are shaped differently than human ones.