I'm a door-to-door salesman I'm often confronted with aggressive dogs, how can I legally defend myself?

I often do door-to-door selling and sometimes I'm confronted with vicious pets, usually dogs. Is there a spray I can buy/use to defend myself that will not have legal repercussions if the dog is temporarily blinded or ill?? I'm unaware of such products…

I'm a door-to-door salesman I'm often confronted with aggressive dogs, how can I legally defend myself?

I often do door-to-door selling and sometimes I'm confronted with vicious pets, usually dogs. Is there a spray I can buy/use to defend myself that will not have legal repercussions if the dog is temporarily blinded or ill?? I'm unaware of such products…...
    General Dog Discussions : I'm a door-to-door salesman I'm often confronted with aggressive dogs, how can I legally defend myself?...

• First, I am sure they are not all "aggressive", they are simply protecting their territory, which is what they are supposed to do. You have invaded their space, they didn't invade yours. I would be disappointed if my dog didn't sound an alarm and charge at a stranger in the yard. Besides that, use cider vinegar/water mix in a spray bottle. They don't like the smell or taste. It will burn the eyes and nose a bit, but won't cause any lasting harm. Another trick the mail man told me he does, he always makes sure that he pets his own dog before hitting his delivery route. Says a dog is friendlier if you smell like one too.

• Run away. Change jobs. If this were a cartoon a string of sausages would work but im not sure thats such a good idea in the real world. If it were me and you sprayed my dog with something I would attack you for doing it, so I think thats a very bad idea, youd spray "scruffy" the french poodle and get beat up by "mad les" his seven foot bouncer owner.