How to you squeeze a dog's gland to keep it from scooting everywhere?

I have never done it before and I really would like to know how ,so I do not have to take my dog to the vet to have it done. Do you squeeze the anus or is a gland near the anus or where? My dog keeps scooting across the carpet all the time. A few times…

I have never done it before and I really would like to know how ,so I do not have to take my dog to the vet to have it done. Do you squeeze the anus or is a gland near the anus or where? My dog keeps scooting across the carpet all the time. A few times…...
    General Dog Discussions : How to you squeeze a dog's gland to keep it from scooting everywhere?...

• How to you squeeze a dog's gland to keep it from scooting everywhere?

How to you squeeze a dog's gland to keep it from scooting everywhere? General Dog Discussions
      I have never done it before and I really would like to know how ,so I do not have to take my dog to the vet to have it done. Do you squeeze the anus or is a gland near the anus or where? My dog keeps scooting across the carpet all the time. A few times she left a brown streak. It is very embarrassing when we have company. My dog is a Jack Russell.

How to you squeeze a dog's gland to keep it from scooting everywhere? General Dog Discussions
    • Here is a video on how to express a dog's anal glands:http://www.ehow.com/video_2275318_express-dog_s-anal-gland.htmlcareful. It's...stinky, to say the least. Good luck!Edit: I'll agree with Love is a German Shepherd. You do need to be shown how by a professional first. My dog had major back surgery and had to have his glands expressed at home. I sometimes forget everyone isn't a gland expressing pro. lol. You do need to visit your vet first to learn the proper technique.